Our aim is to promote, preserve, and present authentic records relating to the history of the area.
The varied and surprising history of the district is represented in our growing collection of documents and historical items housed in the Heritage Centre in Stevenson Street.
Murchison is the oldest European settlement on the lower Goulburn Valley. Its recorded history began in 1838 when the first of many pastoralists Hawden and Bonney, traversed the site on their epic cattle droving journey to Adelaide. Prior to this, the land had been occupied for ages by the Ngurai-illum tribe of Aboriginals. In an attempt to avoid conflict between the two races of people an Aboriginal Protectorate was set up. The system had failed by 1854, when the township was surveyed and named.
A reliable river punt crossing, then the first town bridge built in 1871 ensured the future growth of the town. Construction of the Trust pumping site near the town in 1885 and later the Goulburn Weir saw the beginning of irrigation.
Many civic-minded residents worked to build a vibrant community in the ensuing years and many of its son’s left for active service in the World Wars. During World War 2 the town serviced nearby Prison Camps.
Murchison gained notoriety in 1969 when an ancient meteorite now known as the Murchison Meteorite, fell on the town. Many substantial facilities for sporting and cultural pursuits have been developed in the town through the years due to the efforts of dedicated and community minded residents.
Today, Murchison, although small with a population of 700 continues to be a desirable residential town with a strong community spirit.